top of page
Search

A Busy Week

I had my first mentor visit last week, and it was really interesting! We briefly talked about the goals for the rest of this year, as well as the plan for mentorship regarding the rest of the semester. During the mentor visit, Mr. Sunuwar explained the field of bioinformatics and various topics it entails, including DNA and RNA transcription, and how genes are expressed, and what this all means for gene encoding, gene expression, and predicting hereditary diseases in the future. Essentially, using what we know about genetics, scientists are working to develop algorithms that can predict genetic disease, and some researchers are even looking into gene editing, with tools such as CRISPR. I also learned about what this means for the field of medicine and how physicians and people working in healthcare would be affected. I want to continue researching about these topics, and I plan to continue this discussion on similar topics in the next mentor visit. This week in ISM, we are also finalizing the FPN invitations, and even the Final Product itself, which will be due next week. I also have a lot of testing and quizzes in my classes this week, so I have to prepare for those things. See you next week!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summer is almost here!

This past weekend was Easter, and we had a nice four day weekend as well. It was very relaxing and I almost felt like it was summer because of how much fun I had. This week is a four day week, which i

Final Days of the Final Product

The Final Product is due next week, and I am working on finishing up everything so I can have it ready on time. I have a lot of polishing to do, and I have to make sure that the code actually works, b

First Mentor Visit

Today, I have my first mentor visit of the year. I am so excited to learn new things and I can’t wait to see how it goes. Recently, we haven’t had any assessments due in ISM, because the focus was on

bottom of page