top of page
Search
  • akshayalalithas

Thankful for Thanksgiving Break

One of the most interesting topics in studying oncology for me has been brain tumors. I hadn’t known much about them before, so I decided to read an article about glioblastomas this past week, and that is also what my research essay for this week was about. I find it so interesting that brain tumors, especially glioblastomas, develop so quickly and become deadly so fast. I wish that brain tumors wouldn’t be so hard to treat. It’s a good thing that people who work in neurology and oncology are trying to solve that problem. One of the most shocking things that I learned about glioblastoma tumors is that on average, the survival rate is just over a year. Despite people getting treatment including chemotherapy and radiation therapy, the survival rate is still quite low due to the aggressiveness of brain tumors. It would be nice if we could figure out a way to prevent cancers in the future, or at least treat them better so that people could live longer. On another note, I also made more progress on my original work research. I started evaluating treatments for different kinds of patients, so now the next step is finding sample data to use. I may design a mock scientific research experiment as part of my original work. With Thanksgiving break coming up, I will have more time to spend on working on my original work research. I am excited for Thanksgiving break, as I’m sure most of my peers are. I hope I can be productive while I simultaneously enjoy the break.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Product Progress

Over the long weekend, I had some progress with my Final Product, and I am finalizing and wrapping things up with my mock experiment. I should be on track to finishing the final product on time, but I

Lots of work to do

It is getting closer and closer to Final Product Night, and there is still a lot of work left to do. This past week in ISM I had a mentor visit with Dr. Kaur. We talked about the future and what my ca

A Busy Week Ahead

It is going to be a busy week this week, because I have the SAT on Wednesday, and I also have quizzes and tests in some of my classes. In most of my AP classes, we started reviewing for the AP exams i

bottom of page