top of page
Search
  • akshayalalithas

The End of The First Semester

The first marking period is already over, and now there are only three semesters of school left. This past week, I conducted two interviews with professionals from UT Southwestern Medical Center. The first professional is a radiation oncologist that specializes in genitourinary cancer, and the second professional is a pediatric oncologist that specializes in hematology. Both interviews were conducted online because hospitals were limiting visitors for safety reasons. Despite not being able to conduct the interviews in-person, they still went really well. I learned a lot of information from both professionals, including what they do on a daily basis, some common procedures that they perform, some things that they didn’t know about their job before they got into it, and they even shared a bit about their research. Both professionals have conducted research about their specializations in oncology, and that is one thing that they do outside of their work hours but it still is part of their job. I thought it was really cool to know that they conduct research alongside their jobs, and that is something that I would like to do as well some day. I learned information from them about upcoming cancer treatments, which I know is going to be very useful in my original work project. I know that the professionals would have been very busy but they still took time out of their day to speak with me, which I appreciate a lot. Overall, I really enjoyed conversing with both professionals and I feel very thankful to have spoken with them because they are very knowledgeable and kind people. This week, I hope to have at least one more interview with a professional, and begin gathering information for my original work, specifically about factors that go into choosing what treatments are best for a cancer patient. 


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Product Progress

Over the long weekend, I had some progress with my Final Product, and I am finalizing and wrapping things up with my mock experiment. I should be on track to finishing the final product on time, but I

Lots of work to do

It is getting closer and closer to Final Product Night, and there is still a lot of work left to do. This past week in ISM I had a mentor visit with Dr. Kaur. We talked about the future and what my ca

A Busy Week Ahead

It is going to be a busy week this week, because I have the SAT on Wednesday, and I also have quizzes and tests in some of my classes. In most of my AP classes, we started reviewing for the AP exams i

bottom of page