top of page
Search
  • akshayalalithas

The first interview!

What a busy week! This past week I conducted mock interviews at the Business Symposium with three professionals who each had different areas of expertise. During the interview, I learned a lot about communication and leadership skills. Each professional told me about their experiences in the professional world, including both their successes and hardships. One of the most important things I learned was that in the real world, there are going to be lots of ups and downs, and that life isn’t always going to be perfect. I learned about how the professionals were able to overcome the challenges they faced, and I thought about how I could apply this to my own life. The second professional I spoke with told me something that really stuck with me: that for every one person with cancer that knows what caused their cancer, there are two more people who were diagnosed with cancer that do not know the cause. I learned just how much is unknown about cancer, and how much we still need to find out about it. The same professional also gave me a very important lesson about perseverance. He said that at the end of this pandemic, there would be people that came out of the pandemic and would say, “Well, the pandemic happened, so I couldn’t do anything, and there would be people who say “Well, the pandemic happened, but I was able to do this and make the best out of it.” My goal is to be one of those people in the second category. I want to make the best out of this pandemic and see this as an opportunity for growth, rather than thinking of all the things I ‘couldn’t do’ because of the pandemic. Besides the interviews, I reached out to lots of medical professionals this week to see if they would be alright to conduct a research interview with me. I was so happy when I got a response from a doctor! I will be setting up my first interview soon. I am so excited to find out more information through this interview. My goal this week is quite simple: to continue learning about oncology. I will be able to learn more because of the research interview and reading articles about it. 


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Product Progress

Over the long weekend, I had some progress with my Final Product, and I am finalizing and wrapping things up with my mock experiment. I should be on track to finishing the final product on time, but I

Lots of work to do

It is getting closer and closer to Final Product Night, and there is still a lot of work left to do. This past week in ISM I had a mentor visit with Dr. Kaur. We talked about the future and what my ca

A Busy Week Ahead

It is going to be a busy week this week, because I have the SAT on Wednesday, and I also have quizzes and tests in some of my classes. In most of my AP classes, we started reviewing for the AP exams i

bottom of page